About Shenzhen

I.Shenzhen's ecosystem of manufacturing and its advantages

As China has become a big manufacturing country, it has created a vast ecosystem for suppliers, workers, service companies, and logistics providers. This ecosystem makes it possible for Chinese companies and companies from all over the world to produce more efficiently and improve the production processes. Various advantages created by Shenzhen’s strong manufacturing industrial ecosystem have strengthened Shenzhen’s design industry. In July 2015, McKinsey Global Institute (MGI) released a research called The China Effect on Global Innovation, which introduced Shenzhen’s manufacturing industry ecosystem in graphic forms and emphatically introduced the cases of engineering innovation encouraged by Shenzhen’s industry ecosystem and its design and manufacturing capability. Shenzhen’s manufacturing ecosystem has made it an important center of efficiency-driven innovation. In competitiveness evaluation of innovation cluster cities across the country, the quantity of patent applications in Shenzhen ranked the first in China. But other soft factors of the ecosystem still need to be reinforced.

Innovative enterprises in engineering technology industry took advantage of supply chain and cooperation partners

DJI, a Shenzhen-based technology company, found a niche in civilian drones and, more importantly, realized that it could reduce the costs by utilizing the manufacturing ecosystem. DJI designed drones for mass market with the help of Shenzhen’s industrial ecosystem and the city’s design and manufacturing power. The company focused on core technologies which can differentiate the products and an operating system that can improve controllability. The company offers a free software development kit, which allows developers and programmers to introduce new applications such as 3-D maps and live video. DJI has quickly grown into the global market leader, accounting for about 70 percent of the civilian drone market. The company has grown from 300 to 3,500 employees over the past two years, including 1,000 personnel in R&D department. DJI has filed hundreds of patents and is aggressively pursuing suspected patent infringers. *

Global competitiveness of China’s industry clusters

In order to improve global competitiveness of innovative industrial clusters, the report suggested policy makers to resolve the quality-of-life issues that is mostly concerned by top-notch talents, especially scientific researchers and engineering innovative talents. At present, air quality, housing conditions, transportation and other soft factors of industrial clusters in China are still unsatisfying. Shenzhen’s manufacturing ecosystem has made it an important center of efficiency-driven innovation. As shown in the graph below, the quantity of patent applications in Shenzhen ranked the first among four major cities in China, but, relevant soft factors of the ecosystem still need to be improved.

II. Data of cultural industry and relevant industries in China and Shenzhen

The added value of national cultural industry and relevant industries in 2015

China’s State Statistics Bureau made an release on Aug 30, 2016. According to Categorization of Cultural and Relevant Industries (2012) and Accounting Methods of the Added Value of Cultural and Relevant Industries,and the State Statistics Bureau, the added value of national cultural and relevant industries in 2015 was 2.7235 trillion yuan, with a year-on-year increase of 11 percent (not excluding price factors), with 4.6 percentage points higher than the GDP growth rate of the same period. The added value accounted for 3.97 percent of the GDP, with a year-on-year increase of 0.16 percentage.

MAIN INDICATORS OF CULTURAL AND CREATIVE INDUSTRY DEVELOPMENT IN SHENZHEN , FROM 2011 TO 2015

Relevant conditions of cultural creative industry in Shenzhen

Shenzhen is one of the design cities of national strategic importance and one of the core cities of modern design in China. It has over 6,000 design enterprises with relatively strong strength and over 60,000 professional designers. In recent years, Shenzhen design industry has an increasingly strong development momentum, consistently creates output value and injects new vitality to the city’s economic development. Since 2003, Shenzhen cultural and creative industry has obtained steady development with an annual average growth rate of over 20 percent. In 2015, the added value of cultural and creative industry in Shenzhen reached 175.7 billion yuan, which was at the forefront among large and medium-sized cities in China. From 2004 to 2015, proportion of the added value of cultural and creative industry was increased from 4.6 percent to 10 percent of the city’s GDP and cultural and creative industry became an important engine to drive rapid and sound economic development. In 2015, China has received a total of 154 awards of Germen IF Design Award. Shenzhen won a total of 42 German IF Design Awards and 35 IF Product Design Awards. The quantity of awards obtained by Shenzhen accounted for over one third of the country’s total, which ranked the first in China. Thousands of industrial design companies currently are vigorously developing in Shenzhen and these companies account for about 70 percent of the market shares of the whole country.

Emerging Industrial Parks

Ten years ago, China (Shenzhen) Tianmian City of Design Creative Industry Estate officially settled in Futian District. It is considered as the representative of the strength of Shenzhen design industry. In the past 10 years, cultural industries and design parks have been spring up in this city and become the substantial carriers of the “City of Design” and the innovation source of quality-oriented, smart city, as well as the platform which facilitates Shenzhen design to go global. At beginning of 2016, the leading group of Shenzhen Cultural System Reform & Development passed the Shenzhen Cultural Innovation Development 2020 (Implementation Plan) (briefly referred to as “2020 Plan” ) at a meeting. It is pointed out in plan that currently Shenzhen has built 42 cultural creative industrial parks and 20 cultural creative industry base. The city is determined to speed up the construction of 20 more municipal-level cultural creative industrial parks, and will increase two or three state-level cultural industry parks or bases and promote clustered and large-scale development of cultural creative industry. Among the existing parks, the most distinctive and influential ones include Shenzhen Cultural Creative Industrial Park, Tianmian City of Design Creative Industry Estate, T-PARK (SZ-HK Film & Television Creative Park), China (Shenzhen) Newmedia Advertising Industry Park, Jihong Creative Design Industry Park, Sino-Finnish Design Park as well as Sino-Germany Design Center that is located in Tianmian City of Design Creative Industry Park.

from:Design City of SHENZHEN 2015-2016

设计产业概况

深圳强大的制造业生态系统优势

作为全球制造业大国,中国形成了包括供货商、工人、服务企业和物流服务商在内的庞大生态系统,足以保障本国和世界各地的企业高效制造以及改善生产流程。深圳强大的制造业生态系统带来的诸多益处,让深圳的设计产业如虎添翼。2015 年 7 月,麦肯锡全球研究院(MGI)发布的题为《中国创新的全球效益》的报告,以图解形式介绍深圳制造业生态系统,以及重点介绍了利用深圳产业生态系统的设计和制造能力进行工程技术创新的案例,这也使深圳成为效率驱动型创新的重镇。在全国创新集群城市的竞争力测评中,深圳专利申请数据居全国之首,但其他生态系统软指标仍需加强。

工程技术型行业的创新企业利用供应链和合作伙伴

总部位于深圳的科技公司大疆敏锐地发现了民用无人机这一小众市场,更为重要的是大疆也意识到利用制造生态系统可以用较低的成本制造产品。利用来自深圳产业生态系统的设计和制造能力,大疆设计了面向大众消费者的产品并将其投入市场。大疆专注于能够实现差异化的核心技术,包括一种可以改善操控性的操作系统。该公司免费推出软件开发套件,让开发员和程序员能在其平台上加入 3D 地图、实时视频传输等新应用。大疆迅速成长为市场领袖,占据了全球小型民用无人机大约 70% 的市场。员工队伍在过去两年间从 300 人增加到 3500 人,其中研发部门有 1000 人。大疆申请了数百项专利,同时不遗余力地打击专利侵权的行为。

中国产业集群的全球竞争力

为了提升创新产业集群的全球竞争力,报告建议政策制定者应该花大力气解决顶尖人才,尤其是科研、工程创新人才最为关心的生活质量问题。目前,中国产业集群的空气 质量、住房条件、交通等各项生活质量“软指标”得分依然较低。深圳的制造业生态系统使之成为效率驱动型创新的重镇,如下图显示专利申请数据居中国四大城市之首,但生态系统软指标方面仍需加强。

2015 年全国文化及相关产业增加值

国家统计局于 2016 年 8 月 30 日发布公告,根据 《文化及相关产业分类(2012)》和 《文化及相关产业增加值核算方法》 ,经国家统计局核算,2015 年全国文化及相关产业增加值 27235 亿元,比上年增长 11%(未扣除价格因素),比同期 GDP 名义增速高 4.6个百分点;占 GDP 的比重为 3.97%,比上年提高 0.16 个百分点。

深圳文化创意产业相关情况

深圳是中国的设计重镇和现代设计的核心城市之一,拥有实力较强的设计企业 6000多家,专业设计师 6 万余人。近年来深圳设计行业发展势头愈发强劲,不断地创造产值,为深圳的经济发展注入新的活力。自 2003 年以来,深圳文化创意产业以年均超过 20% 的速度稳健发展。2015 年文化创意产业增加值达 1757 亿元,位居全国大中城市前列。2004 至 2015 年,文化创意产业增加值占全市 GDP 比重由 4.6% 提高到10%,成为带动经济快速健康发展的重要引擎。2015 年德国 iF 设计大奖中国地区获奖总数为 154 件,深圳共获取 42 个奖项,iF 产品设计奖深圳获奖 35 件,深圳获奖件数超过全国总获奖件数的三分之一,居全国首位。目前,在深圳活跃着数千家工业设计公司,占据全国近 70% 的市场份额。

来源:深圳设计之都报告2015-2016